RÉPONSE À LA COVID-19 - Nous nous engageons à soutenir notre communauté scientifique durant la pandémie. En savoir plus  

Centre d’innovation des organoïdes

Technologies de pointe et nouvelles méthodes biologiques 3D pour faire avancer la découverte des médicaments

Le laboratoire automatisé d’analyse d’images et de culture cellulaire 3D optimise la recherche en biologie complexe et la met à grande échelle

Le nouveau Centre d’innovation des organoïdes de Molecular Devices associe des technologies de pointe à de nouvelles méthodes de biologie 3D pour faire face aux principales difficultés de la mise à grande échelle de la biologie 3D complexe.

L’espace collaboratif fait entrer les clients et les chercheurs dans le laboratoire pour tester les flux de travail automatisés pour la mise en culture et le criblage des organoïdes, et des chercheurs internes prodiguent des conseils.

Une solution complète normalise le processus de développement des organoïdes avec la culture cellulaire, le traitement et l’incubation, en passant par l’imagerie, l’analyse et le traitement des données, ce qui permet d’obtenir des résultats cohérents, exacts et pertinents d’un point de vue biologique à grande échelle.

Adoptez rapidement des technologies et des méthodes biologiques 3D innovantes pour la découverte des médicaments

Le centre va au-delà de l’imagerie pour démontrer une solution totalement intégrée qui permet de faire face aux difficultés associées à chaque étape du pipeline allant de la préparation des échantillons au rapport pour les tests réalisés sur des modèles biologiques 3D complexes.

Le Centre d’innovation des organoïdes présente des instruments de pointe qui fonctionnent ensemble de façon harmonieuse afin d’obtenir une croissance et un suivi des cultures cellulaires 2D et 3D de cellules vivantes autonomes à long terme grâce à l’imagerie intelligente sans marquage. Ce flux de travail intégré permet des alertes de contrôle qualité et la disponibilité des tests, uncriblage des organoïdes 3D et une analyse d’images par apprentissage profond qui révèle les modèles inaccessibles avec d'autres technologies.

 

Cellule de travail sur le criblage des organoïdes au Centre d’innovation des organoïdes de Molecular Devices

Découvrez la puissance et la flexibilité d’une solution de criblage haut débit automatisée et sur mesure

Grâce à un logiciel de programmation intuitif, vous pouvez contrôler le flux de travail 3D à distance, en suivant le parcours de la cellule, de la cellule unique à l’organoïde différencié. La culture cellulaire et l’incubation sont optimisées grâce à un incubateur automatisé et à un robot collaboratif qui permettent d’avoir une culture régulière. Le changement de milieu pour le maintien de la culture est normalisé et optimisé grâce à la manipulation automatisée des liquides, ce qui réduit les interventions manuelles. Le développement de modèles 3D peut être suivi dans le temps par imagerie sans marquage afin d’évaluer la capacité des tests, et grâce au feedback en temps réel, la programmation de l’ajout automatisé de composés et du traitement est normalisée.

Protocole

  • Étape 1) Pré-culture 2d – Les organoïdes sont pré-cultivés à partir de cellules dérivées d’iPSC ou de cellulaires primaires (intestin, poumon ou cerveau) 
  • Étape 2) Développement d’organoïdes 3D – Les cellules sont transférées dans des plaques à 24 puits, puis placées dans un incubateur afin de favoriser la croissance cellulaire et la différenciation en tissu spécifique en 3D
  • Étape 3) Culture d’organoïdes – Le processus de mise en culture des organoïdes requiert plusieurs étapes avec différents changements de milieu
  • Étape 4) Contrôler la croissance et le développement des organoïdes – Les organoïdes sont contrôlés et caractérisés pour l’analyse complexe de la structure et de la différenciation tissulaires
  • Étape 5) Imagerie confocale et analyse 3D – Visualisation et caractérisation de multiples descripteurs quantitatifs utilisées pour étudier les phénotypes des maladies et les effets des composés
  • Notre nouveau système d’imagerie haut contenu ImageXpress Confocal HT.ai, conçu pour l’imagerie 3D. Ce système offre huit canaux d’excitation laser haute intensité et des objectifs à immersion dans l’eau automatisés qui amplifient la sensibilité des signaux et des tests sans sacrifier la vitesse.  La technologie confocale à disque rotatif avec cinq options de géométrie à trous réduit le halo dû à la lumière floue pour une pénétration des organoïdes plus en profondeur et une meilleure résolution axiale. Pour l’analyse de la biologie 3D complexe, le logiciel d’analyse d’images IN Carta permet un flux de travail optimal avec une segmentation puissante basée sur l’apprentissage profond, une classification basée sur l’apprentissage machine et une analyse volumétrique 3D.

Personnalisations 3D haute performance

 

Molecular Devices peut adapter le système afin d’inclure un matériel et un logiciel personnalisés, notamment les caractéristiques décrites ici, et d’intégrer d’autres composants de laboratoire, tels que des incubateurs, des manipulateurs de liquides et des systèmes robotiques pour une cellule de travail entièrement automatisée. Avec plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie des sciences de la vie, vous pouvez compter sur nous pour fournir des produits de qualité et une assistance partout dans le monde.

La vente est soumise à nos Conditions d’achat de produits personnalisés disponibles sur www.moleculardevices.com/custom-products-purchase-terms

 

Galerie d’images de cellules d'organoïdes pulmonaires

Applications et tests

Le Centre d’innovation des organoïdes s’appuie sur les 35 ans d’expérience de Molecular Devices en fourniture de technologies de sciences de la vie haute performance à ses clients dans le but d’améliorer le développement des médicaments, la recherche en biotechnologie et le criblage des clones.

En savoir plus sur nos applications automatisées d’imagerie haut contenu et de biologie 3D à la pointe de l’industrie :

  • Articles sur la biologie 3D

    Articles sur la biologie 3D

    Articles sur la biologie 3D rédigés par des spécialistes de chez Molecular Devices et cités dans des publications spécialisées telles que BioTechniques and Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News.

    Recherche sur les cellules cancéreuses 3D

    Recherche sur les cellules cancéreuses 3D

    Le cancer implique des changements qui permettent aux cellules de se développer et de se diviser de manière anarchique, d’envahir et de détruire les tissus adjacents, et enfin de produire des métastases dans des sites anatomiques éloignés. Les sphéroïdes cancéreux imitent le comportement tumoral bien plus efficacement que les cultures cellulaires 2D standard. Ces modèles sphéroïdes 3D sont utilisés avec succès dans les environnements de criblage pour l’identification d’agents thérapeutiques potentiels contre le cancer.

    Les chercheurs qui étudient le cancer ont besoin d’outils leur permettant d’analyser plus facilement les interactions complexes et souvent mal comprises entre les cellules cancéreuses et leur environnement, et leur permettant d’identifier des cibles thérapeutiques.

    En savoir plus 

  • Modèles cellulaires 3D

    Modèles cellulaires 3D

    Les cultures cellulaires 3D présentent l’avantage de reproduire fidèlement certains aspects des tissus humains, notamment l’architecture, l’organisation cellulaire, les interactions cellule-cellule et cellule-matrice et des caractéristiques de diffusion plus pertinentes d’un point de vue physiologique. L’utilisation des tests cellulaires 3D ajoute de la valeur aux recherches et aux campagnes de criblage, comblant l’écart translationnel entre les cultures cellulaires 2D et les modèles animaux complets. En reproduisant des paramètres importants de l’environnement in vivo, les modèles 3D peuvent fournir un aperçu unique du comportement des cellules souches et du développement des tissus in vitro.

    En savoir plus 

    Marquage cellulaire

    Marquage cellulaire

    Le marquage cellulaire est un test multiplexé haut contenu à base d'images et utilisé pour le profilage cytologique. Dans un test de marquage de cellules, jusqu’à six colorants fluorescents sont utilisés pour marquer les différents composants de la cellule, notamment le noyau, le réticulum endoplasmique, la mitochondrie, le cytosquelette, l’appareil de Golgi et l’ARN. L’objectif est de « peindre » (marquer) la cellule autant que possible afin de capturer une image représentative de la cellule entière.

    En savoir plus 

  • Avancées de nos clients

    Révolution dans le domaine de la découverte de médicaments

    Bioneer utilise le système ImageXpress Micro Confocal pour l’imagerie haut débit de modèles de maladie 3D

    Révolution dans le domaine de la découverte de médicaments pour la modélisation en immuno-oncologie et de maladies neurodégénératives : Imagerie haut contenu de modèles de maladie 3D

    En savoir plus  

    Modélisation de maladie

    Modélisation de maladie

    Dans ce webinaire, en collaboration avec MIMETAS, nous présentons les derniers développements dans le domaine de l’intégration des protocoles relatifs aux organoïdes avec technologie « organe sur puce », ainsi que les avancées dans le domaine des technologies d’imagerie haut contenu qui permettent ces applications 3D avancées. Nous montrons comment divers modèles tissulaires constitués de co-cultures complexes peuvent être formés dans un système perfusé, en utilisant des protocoles de pointe utilisant des organoïdes et des cellules souches, et comment ces modèles peuvent ensuite être criblés et analysés avec une seule interface intégrée de façon à significativement réduire le délai jusqu’à la découverte.

  • Passer de la culture cellulaire 2D à la culture cellulaire 3D

    Passer de la culture cellulaire 2D à la culture cellulaire 3D

    Une récente évolution s'est effectuée vers l’utilisation de modèles cellulaires 3D dans les domaines de la découverte de médicaments et de la modélisation des maladies, car de nombreuses études montrent qu’ils imitent mieux l’environnement in vivo et fournissent davantage de données pertinentes d’un point de vue physiologique que les modèles 2D.

    Organoïdes

    Organoïdes

    Les organoïdes sont des micro-tissus multicellulaires en trois dimensions (3D) conçus pour imiter fidèlement la structure et la fonctionnalité complexes des organes humains. Les organoïdes sont généralement constitués d’une co-culture de cellules qui présentent un ordre supérieur d’auto-assemblage permettant une représentation encore meilleure des interactions et des réponses cellulaires in vivo complexes par rapport aux cultures cellulaires traditionnelles en 2D.

    En savoir plus 

  • Recherche sur les cellules souches

    Recherche sur les cellules souches

    Des cellules souches pluripotentes peuvent être utilisées pour des études en biologie du développement ou être différenciées comme source pour des cellules spécifiques à un organe pour des tests sur cellules fixées ou vivantes sur des lames ou dans des plaques multi-puits. Le système ImageXpress est utile à toutes les étapes du flux de travail de recherche sur les cellules souches, allant du suivi de la différenciation jusqu’au contrôle qualité pour l’évaluation de la fonctionnalité de types de cellules spécifiques.

    En savoir plus 

    Criblage de la toxicité

    Criblage de la toxicité

    Les modèles d’organoïde sont de plus en plus populaires dans la recherche biologique et le criblage pour résumer la complexité des tissus réels. Pour modéliser les poumons humains in vivo, nous avons mis en culture des cellules épithéliales de poumon humain dans des conditions favorisant la formation de structures 3D reproduisant fidèlement les caractéristiques morphologiques et fonctionnelles des voies respiratoires.

    Télécharger l'affiche scientifique

Ressources sur le Centre d’innovation des organoïdes

Vidéos et webinaires

Présentation du Centre d’innovation des organoïdes

Présentation du Centre d’innovation des organoïdes

Modélisation de maladie au 21e siècle : Tests d'organoïdes automatisés avec imagerie 3D

Systèmes « organe sur puce » dérivé d’organoïdes haut contenu pour la découverte de médicaments et la modélisation de maladies

Passage des tests haut contenu à la 3D : Opportunités scientifiques et défis de l'imagerie

Débuter avec l’imagerie de modèles cellulaires 3D : tout ce que vous devez savoir

Développement de modèles tissulaires « organe sur puce » haut débit pour la découverte de médicaments grâce à l’imagerie haut contenu

Modèles tissulaires physiologiquement pertinents utilisant une plateforme « organes sur puce » à haut débit

Modèles tissulaires physiologiquement pertinents utilisant une plateforme « organes sur puce » à haut débit

Produits et services connexes

COVID-19 RESPONSE - We are committed to supporting our scientific community during this pandemic. Learn more 

Organoid Innovation Center

Modular, automated 3D cell culture and image analysis lab enables customers to streamline and scale organoid interrogation, advancing drug discovery research

Automated 3D cell culture and image analysis lab streamlines and scales complex biology research

The new Organoid Innovation Center at Molecular Devices combines cutting-edge technologies with novel 3D biology methods to address key challenges of scaling complex 3D biology.

The collaborative space brings customers and researchers into the lab to test automated workflows for organoid culturing and screening, with guidance from in-house scientists.

An end-to-end solution standardizes the organoid development process with cell culture, treatment, and incubation, through to imaging, analysis, and data processing, delivering consistent, unbiased, and biologically-relevant results at scale.

Quickly adopt innovative, 3D biological methods and technologies for drug discovery

The center expands beyond imaging to demonstrate a fully-integrated solution that addresses the challenges associated with every step in the sample prep-to-report pipeline for assays performed on complex 3D biological models.

The Organoid Innovation Center showcases cutting-edge instruments that work harmoniously together for autonomous, long-term, live cell 2D and 3D cell culture growth and monitoring with intelligent label-free imaging. This integrated workflow provides quality control alerts and readiness, 3D organoid screening, and deep learning image analysis that reveals hidden patterns other technologies miss.

 

     

"While organoids hold great promise to transform drug development, precision medicine, and ultimately, transplantation-based therapies for end-stage diseases, a number of major hurdles need to be overcome to realize the full potential of organoid medicine. Our recently established CuSTOM Accelerator Lab aims to solve these issues by developing fully automated high-throughput workflows for improved scalability, reproducibility of organoid production and novel organoid-based drug screening platforms. Combining CuSTOM’s expertise with the cutting-edge imaging technologies and solutions from Molecular Devices will be essential for achieving these goals. CuSTOM’s innovative approach aligns well with the focus of Molecular Devices’ Organoid Innovation Center for advancing biological imaging and analytical methods for real-world impact, and we look forward to working together to further advance a versatile organoid medicine."

— Magdalena Kasendra, Ph.D.  
Director of research and development at CuSTOM  
Read press release >

See the power and flexibility of an automated and customizable high-throughput screening solution

With intuitive scheduling software researchers can control the 3D workflow remotely, tracking the cell journey from single cell to differentiated organoid, along the way. Cell culture and incubation is streamlined with an automated incubator and collaborative robot that maintains culture consistency. Media exchange for culture maintenance is standardized and streamlined with automated liquid handling, minimizing manual intervention. 3D model development can be monitored over time with label-free imaging to assess assay readiness – and with real-time feedback, scheduling of automated compound addition and treatment is standardized.

     

Organoid Screening Workflow

  • Step 1) 2d Pre-culture – Organoids are pre-cultured from iPSC-derived or primary cells (intestine, lung, or brain) 
  • Step 2) Developing 3D Organoids – Cells are transferred to 24-well plates then placed in an incubator to promote cell growth and differentiation into specific tissue in 3D
  • Step 3) Organoid Culture – Organoid culture process require multiple steps with different media exchanges
  • Step 4) Monitor organoid growth & development – Organoid are monitored and characterized for complex analysis of tissue structure and differentiation
  • Step 5) Confocal imaging and 3D analysis – The visualization and characterization of multiple quantitative descriptors used for studying disease phenotypes and compound effects

Our new ImageXpress Confocal HT.ai High-Content Imaging system is designed for 3D imaging. This system offers eight high-powered laser excitation channels and automated water immersion objectives that boost signal and assay sensitivity without sacrificing speed. Spinning disk confocal technology with five pinhole geometry options reduces haze from out-of-focus light for deeper organoid penetration and improved axial resolution. For analysis of complex 3D biology, IN Carta Image Analysis Software provides a streamlined workflow with powerful deep-learning-based segmentation, machine learning-based classification, and 3D volumetric analysis.

Complete solutions for a fully integrated lab automation workflow

Our lab automation solutions include scientists and engineers who can customize our instruments, as well as automate entire workflows to meet the specific needs of your assay, method, or protocol. From incubators, liquid handlers, and robotics to customized software and hardware—and with over 35 years of experience in the life science industry—you can count on us to deliver quality products and provide worldwide support.

Sale is subject to our Custom Product Purchase Terms available at www.moleculardevices.com/custom-products-purchase-terms

Featured Blog: Engineering Next-gen Organoids with Automated Lab Workflows at #SLAS2022

SLAS2022, the Society for Lab Automation and Screening conference offered another exciting year for learning about innovative laboratory technologies. Whether you attended in-person or visited us online at our virtual events page, we were excited to share new methods and protocols to automate your complex biology workflows.

Here's a brief overview of our poster presentations that run the gamut of valuable topics — from new advancements in engineering next-generation organoids to developing an automated lab workflow for 3D cell culture, monitoring, and high-content imaging.

Next Gen Ordonoid

 

Lung organoid cell image gallery

Applications and assays

The Organoid Innovation Center builds on Molecular Devices 35 years of experience delivering high-performance life science technology to customers for improved drug development, biotechnology research, and clone screening workflows.

Learn more about our industry leading 3D biology and automated high-content imaging applications:

  • 2D to 3D Cell Culture

    Moving from 2D to 3D Cell Culture

    There has been a recent shift toward using 3D cell models in drug discovery and disease modeling, as numerous studies show they better mimic the in vivo environment and provide more physiologically-relevant data than 2D models.

    3D Biology Articles

    3D Biology Articles

    Curated 3D biology articles from Molecular Devices subject matter experts, featured in trade publications like BioTechniques and Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News.

  • 3D Cancer Cell Research

    3D Cancer Cell Research

    Cancer involves changes which enable cells to grow and divide without respect to normal limits, to invade and destroy adjacent tissues, and ultimately to metastasize to distant sites in the body. Cancer spheroids mimic tumor behavior far more effectively than standard 2D cell cultures. Such 3D spheroid models are being successfully used in screening environments for identifying potential cancer therapeutics.

    Cancer researchers need tools that enable them to more easily study the complex and often poorly understood interactions between cancerous cells and their environment, and to identify points of therapeutic intervention.

    Learn More 

    3D Cell Models

    3d Cell Models

    3D cell cultures offer the advantage of closely recapitulating aspects of human tissues including the architecture, cell organization, cell-cell and cell-matrix interactions, and more physiologically-relevant diffusion characteristics. Utilization of 3D cellular assays adds value to research and screening campaigns, spanning the translational gap between 2D cell cultures and whole-animal models. By reproducing important parameters of the in vivo environment, 3D models can provide unique insight into the behavior of stem cells and developing tissues in vitro.

    Read More 

  • Cell Painting

    Cell Painting

    Cell Painting is a high-content, multiplexed image-based assay used for cytological profiling. In a Cell Painting assay, up to six fluorescent dyes are used to label different components of the cell including the nucleus, the endoplasmic reticulum, mitochondria, cytoskeleton, the Golgi apparatus, and RNA. The goal is to “paint” as much of the cell as possible to capture a representative image of the whole cell.

    Learn More 

    Customer Breakthrough

    Revolutionizing early drug discovery

    Bioneer uses the ImageXpress Micro Confocal for high-throughput imaging of 3D disease models

    Revolutionizing early drug discovery for immuno-oncology and neurodegenerative disease modelling: High content imaging of 3D disease models

    Learn more  

  • Disease Modeling

    Disease Modeling

    In this webinar, in collaboration with MIMETAS, we present some of the latest developments in integrating organoid protocols with organ-on-a-chip technology, as well as advancements in the high-content imaging technologies that are enabling these advanced 3D applications. We show how a range of tissue models comprising complex co-cultures can be formed in a perfused system, using state-of-the-art stem cell and organoid protocols, and how such models can then be screened and analyzed within a single, integrated interface to dramatically reduce time to discovery.

    Organoids

    Organoids

    Organoids are three-dimensional (3D) multi-cellular microtissues that are designed to closely mimic the complex structure and functionality of human organs. Organoids typically consist of a co-culture of cells which demonstrate a high order of self-assembly to allow for an even better representation of complex in vivo cell responses and interactions, as compared to traditional 2D cell cultures.

    Learn More 

  • Stem Cell Research

    Stem Cell Research

    Pluripotent stem cells can be used for studies in developmental biology or differentiated as a source for organ-specific cells and used for live or fixed cell-based assays on slides or in multi-well plates. The ImageXpress system has utility in all parts of the stem cell researcher’s workflow, from tracking differentiation, to quality control, to measuring functionality of specific cell types.

    Learn more 

    Toxicity Screening

    Toxicity Screening

    Organoid models have increasingly gained popularity in biologic research and screening to recapitulate complexity of real tissues. To model the in vivo human lungs, we have cultured primary human lung epithelial cells under conditions that promote the formation of 3D structures recapitulating the morphological and functional characteristics of the airway.

    Download scientific poster

Latest Resources

Resources for Organoid Innovation Center

Videos & Webinars

Leverage automated, end-to-end workflows to enable complex organoid assays

Enhance high-content 3D biology imaging with automated sample preparation

Emerging Organoid Models: Translating Basic Research to Drug Development and Regenerative Medicine

ISSCR 2021 Innovation Showcase: Automated Culture and High-Content Imaging of 3D Lung and Cardiac

Organoid Innovation Center Walkthrough

Organoid Innovation Center Walkthrough

Disease modeling in the 21st century: Automated organoid assays with 3D imaging

High-throughput, organoid-derived organ-on-a-chip systems for drug discovery and disease modelling

High-throughput, organoid-derived organ-on-a-chip systems for drug discovery and disease modelling

Transitioning high-content assays to 3D: Scientific opportunities and imaging challenges

Getting started with imaging 3D cell models – all you need to know

Getting started with imaging 3D cell models – all you need to know

Developing high-throughput organ-on-a-chip tissue models for drug discovery using high-content imaging

Physiologically-Relevant Tissue Models Using a High-Throughput Organ-on-a-Chip Platform

Physiologically-Relevant Tissue Models Using a High-Throughput Organ-on-a-Chip Platform