RÉPONSE À LA COVID-19 - Nous nous engageons à soutenir notre communauté scientifique durant la pandémie. En savoir plus  

Vue d’ensemble de TRF/TR-FRET (HTRF)

Fluorescence en temps résolu (TRF)

Les mesures d’intensité de la fluorescence (FI) utilisent des fluorophores standard comme la fluorescéine, dont l’émission est brève, de l’ordre des nanosecondes. L’excitation de l’échantillon et la mesure de l’émission ont lieu simultanément. Bien que les lecteurs de microplaques soient très efficaces pour écarter la lumière d’excitation de la mesure d’émission, cette lumière d’excitation, avec la brève lumière émise par les matériaux dans le puits ou l’échantillon, contribue souvent à un bruit de fond élevé.

La fluorescence en temps résolu (TRF) réduit le bruit de fond en utilisant un fluorophore lanthanidique, tel que l’europium ou le terbium, qui émet une fluorescence longue. Cette fluorescence longue dure plusieurs millisecondes. Par conséquent, l’excitation du fluorophore par une source lumineuse pulsée (p. ex., lampe flash), suivie d’un délai, puis de la mesure du signal (« fenêtre de comptage »), permet à la fluorescence brève (ne durant que quelques nanosecondes) de s’atténuer avant de réaliser une mesure. Les tests utilisant la fluorescence en temps résolu permettent d’obtenir des rapports signal/bruit significativement réduits. Les lanthanides les plus fréquemment utilisés sont l’europium, le terbium et le samarium. Ils sont généralement utilisés comme complexes de type chélate ou cryptate permettant une bonne intensité et une bonne stabilité du signal.

 

 

fluorescence en temps résolu

Transfert d’énergie par résonance de fluorescence en temps résolu (TR-FRET)

 

htrf-camp

Sans FRET

Le donneur et l’accepteur sont distants

FRET

Le donneur et l’accepteur sont très proches

Le TR-FRET combine la mesure de la fluorescence en temps résolu (TR) à la technologie de transfert d’énergie par résonance par fluorescence (FRET). Dans les tests FRET, des biomolécules (p. ex., protéines) sont marquées avec des fluorophores donneurs et accepteurs. Lorsque les biomolécules interagissent, les fluorophores donneurs et accepteurs se rapprochent. Lorsque le donneur est excité, il peut transférer son énergie d’émission à l’accepteur, qui, à son tour, émet une fluorescence à une longueur d’onde spécifique. Les émissions de fluorescence du donneur et de l’accepteur ont différentes longueurs d’onde pouvant être différenciées les unes des autres au moyen d’un lecteur de microplaques, ce qui permet la quantification de l’interaction biomoléculaire.

En utilisant comme donneurs des fluorophores lanthanidiques, qui ont une émission de fluorescence longue, les tests de TR-FRET tirent partie de la mesure de la fluorescence en temps résolu pour éliminer la fluorescence de fond brève. Dans un test TR-FRET, grâce à l’émission longue du fluorophore donneur, l’excitation et l’émission des fluorophores donneurs et accepteurs peuvent également être mesurées après que la fluorescence de fond brève a diminué.

Fluorescence homogène en temps résolu (HTRF)

TR-FRET

La technologie HTRF est une technologie TR-FRET polyvalente développée par Cisbio pour détecter les interactions biomoléculaires. Habituellement, le test HTRF utilise un cryptate d’europium comme donneur, et le fluorophore organique d2 comme accepteur. Le donneur et l’accepteur peuvent être utilisés pour marquer un grand nombre de biomolécules, pour des applications comprenant l’épigénétique, la quantification des biomarqueurs, la signalisation des GPCR, et bien plus encore. Les tests HTRF requièrent un lecteur de microplaques avec mode de détection TRF certifié compatible HTRF par Cisbio.

Avancées de nos clients

iTeos utilise nos lecteurs de microplaques multimode afin d'identifier des agents thérapeutiques ayant pour cible le micro-environnement immunitaire de la tumeur

En savoir plus  

 
 

Avantages et éléments à prendre en considération

Un avantage clé de la détection TRF et TR-FRET est la diminution du bruit de fond et l’augmentation du rapport signal/bruit par rapport à la fluorescence standard, résultant en sensibilité accrue. En outre, le test est doté d’un format « mix-and-read » robuste ne nécessitant pas de lavage. Ceci, en plus de la stabilité du test, facilite l’automatisation et la miniaturisation pour les applications de criblage.

 

Applications et tests

Les tests TRF et TR-FRET (HTRF) permettent l’analyse des interactions moléculaires dans les processus biochimiques et sont largement utilisés pour étudier les tests d'activité kinase, les voies de signalisation cellulaire, les interactions protéine-protéine, les interactions ADN-protéine, la cytotoxicité cellulaire et la liaison ligand-récepteur.

Des exemples de test TR-FRET sont présentés dans le tableau à droite, et vous trouverez ci-dessous plusieurs ressources sur la fluorescence en temps résolu.
 

Test Donneur Accepteur Longueurs d’onde
HTRF-Eu/rouge* Cryptate d’europium XL665 ou d2 Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665
HTRF-Tb/rouge* Cryptate de terbium XL665 ou d2 Ex340 Em1 620/Em2 665
HTRF-Tb/vert* Cryptate de terbium fluorescéine ou GFP Ex340 Em1 620/Em2 520
Lanthascreen Tb** Chélate de terbium fluorescéine Ex340 Em1 490/Em2 520
Lanthascreen EU** Chélate d’europium Alexa Fluor 647 Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665
LANCE (original)*** Chélate d’europium Surelight® APC Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665
LANCE Ultra*** Chélate d’europium ULight Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665

  • Test HTRF

    Test HTRF

    Les tests HTRF de Cisbio ont évolué afin d’englober les domaines des récepteurs couplés aux protéines G, des kinases et de la signalisation cellulaire, de l’épigénétique et des biomarqueurs. Un grand nombre de kits et de réactifs de la boîte à outils sont disponibles pour les interactions protéine-protéine, les tests des récepteurs nucléaires, la dimérisation des récepteurs, la liaison du ligand, l’internalisation des récepteurs, les tests enzymatiques, et bien plus encore.

    Le HTRF implique l’utilisation de deux fluorophores, un donneur et un accepteur, pour marquer les protéines ou les autres biomolécules d’intérêt. Lorsque les biomolécules interagissent, leur proximité permet le transfert d’énergie par résonance de fluorescence (FRET) du fluorophore donneur vers le fluorophore accepteur. L’utilisation de cryptates de lanthanide fluorescents à longue durée de vie comme donneurs permet la détection en temps résolu des tests HTRF, réduisant la brève fluorescence de fond des composés et autres matériaux. La détection du FRET en temps résolu (TR-FRET) avec un lecteur de microplaques permet une lecture de la liaison biomoléculaire.

    Lecteurs de microplaques compatibles HTRF

    Lecteurs de microplaques compatibles HTRF

    Pour obtenir des résultats de HTRF optimaux, il faut un lecteur de microplaques ayant été validé comme répondant aux caractéristiques de performance HTRF définies par Cisbio. L’optique, la source d’énergie et les détecteurs d’un lecteur, ainsi que les paramètres utilisés pour détecter le HTRF, ont tous un impact sur la performance. Nos lecteurs utilisent des composants optimisés pour la détection du HTRF, notamment une cartouche de détection du HTRF pour le lecteur SpectraMax i3x et le lecteur de microplaques multimode Paradigm, ainsi qu’un module TRF amélioré plus des filtres validés pour le lecteur SpectraMax iD5.

    Le programme de certification HTRF de Cisbio garantit que les lecteurs portant le logo « compatible HTRF » répondent aux caractéristiques requises pour une performance HTRF optimale. Cette note technique présente les paramètres optimisés validés par Cisbio pour les lecteurs de microplaques compatibles HTRF de Molecular Devices.

  • Test HTRF Human TNFα

    Test HTRF Human TNFα

    Le kit de test Human TNFα permet la détermination quantitative directe du TNFα. Il utilise un test immunologique de type sandwich impliquant deux anticorps spécifiques : un anticorps anti-TNFα marqué avec du cryptate d’europium et un anticorps anti-TNFα marqué par XL665 ou d2. En présence de TNFα, les deux anticorps se lient au TNFα, rapprochant les deux marqueurs de façon qu’une TR-FRET a lieu (Figure 1). Le signal est proportionnel à la concentration de l’antigène dans l’échantillon.

    Dans cette note d’application, nous montrons comment le lecteur de microplaques multimode SpectraMax® Paradigm® est utilisé pour réaliser des tests fiables sans lavage des cytokines appuyés sur d’excellents facteurs Z.

    Lire la note d'application  

    Normaliser les dosages des cytokines HTRF pour la viabilité cellulaire

    Normaliser les dosages des cytokines HTRF pour la viabilité cellulaire

    Les cytokines pro- et anti-inflammatoires jouent un rôle central dans l’auto-immunité et les maladies inflammatoires et infectieuses. Elles jouent également un rôle clé dans les troubles du métabolisme et en oncologie, en particulier dans la réponse immunitaire antitumorale. La fluorescence homogène en temps résolu (HTRF) de Cisbio Bioassays offre une plateforme polyvalente pour la quantification de diverses cytokines et chimiokines.

    Cette note d’application démontre comment réaliser une analyse pertinente de la sécrétion de cytokines conjointement à la viabilité cellulaire avec le lecteur de microplaques multimode SpectraMax i3x® et le cytomètre d’imagerie SpectraMax® Minimax® 300.

    Lire la note d'application  

  • Mesurer le métabolisme oxydatif et l’activité glycolytique

    Mesurer le métabolisme oxydatif et l’activité glycolytique

    Pour survivre, les cellules requièrent de l’énergie sous forme d’ATP afin d'effectuer les processus biologiques les plus essentiels. Cette énergie est générée via la glycolyse et la respiration mitochondriale. Même si elle produisent toutes les deux de l’ATP, la glycolyse peut avoir lieu en l’absence d’oxygène, tandis que les mitochondries requièrent de l’oxygène pour l’étape finale de la phosphorylation oxydative (OXPHOS).

    Avantages de la note d’application :

    • Mesure en temps réel de l’appauvrissement en oxygène extracellulaire et de l’acidification dans les cellules et les micro-organismes mis en culture
    • Détection TRF sensible de deux flux de travail de test « mix-and-measure » simples
    • Acquisition et analyse des données plus rapides grâce aux protocoles SoftMax Pro préconfigurés

    Lire la note d'application  

    Tests HTRF cAMP dynamique 2 et IP-One

    Tests HTRF cAMP dynamique 2 et IP-One

    La performance du test HTRF sur le lecteur SpectraMax M5e est démontrée ici avec deux kits de test HTRF différents : test cAMP dynamique 2 et IP-One. Les récepteurs couplés aux protéines G transmettent leur signal via deux voies majeures : la régulation du cAMP et l’augmentation du taux de calcium intracellulaire déclenchée par l'IP3. Avec le kit cAMP dynamique 2, les taux de cAMP sont détectés à l’aide d’un anticorps monoclonal anti-cAMP marqué au cryptate d’europium et de cAMP marqué au d2. Le test IP-One a un format similaire et utilise un anticorps monoclonal spécifique à IP1, un métabolite en aval plus stable d’IP3 qui s’accumule dans les cellules de signalisation en présence de chlorure de lithium.

    Cette note d’application présente à la fois les données des tests cellulaires et les courbes standards générées avec les kits cAMP dynamique 2 et IP-One. Ces données HTRF démontrent l’excellente plage dynamique et les facteurs Z’ pouvant être obtenus avec le lecteur SpectraMax M5e.

    Lire la note d'application  

  • Test HTRF cAMP HiRange

    Test HTRF cAMP HiRange

    Veuillez cliquer ici pour agrandir l’image.

    Le kit HTRF cAMP HiRange permet la quantification de l’AMP cyclique (cAMP, adénosine 3’ cyclique, 5’–monophosphate) dans des échantillons cellulaires. La cAMP est un second messager essentiel dans la signalisation des récepteurs couplés aux protéines G (GPCR). Lors de la fixation du ligand à un GPCR, un changement de conformation a lieu, activant le récepteur qui, à son tour, active une protéine G.

    Dans cette note d’application, nous montrons comment les lecteurs de microplaques multimode SpectraMax® sont utilisés pour réaliser des tests HTRF® haut débit fiables avec d'excellents facteurs Z' et des valeurs de CE50 hautement reproductibles.

    Lire la note d'application  

    Paramètres optimisés pour les tests Transcreener TR-FRET

    Tests Transcreener TR-FRET

    Les tests Transcreener® TR-FRET sont des tests immunologiques compétitifs en une étape pour la détection directe des nucléotides avec un affichage du transfert d’énergie de résonance par fluorescence de type Förster en temps résolu dans les infrarouges lointains (TR-FRET). Découvrez comment optimiser les paramètres pour les tests Transcreener TR-FRET sur les lecteurs de microplaques multimode SpectraMax iD5 et i3x.

    Lire la note d'application  

Ressources sur la fluorescence en temps résolu TRF / TR-FRET (HTRF)

Produits et services connexes

COVID-19 RESPONSE - We are committed to supporting our scientific community during this pandemic. Learn more 

TRF, TR-FRET & HTRF

TRF / TR-FRET (HTRF) Overview

Time-Resolved Fluorescence (TRF)

Fluorescence intensity (FI) measurements use standard fluorophores like fluorescein, whose emission is short-lived, on the order of nanoseconds. Excitation of the sample and measurement of emission occur simultaneously. Although microplate readers are very good at screening out excitation light from the emission measurement, that excitation light, along with short-lived light emitted by materials in the well or sample, often contributes to high background.

Time-resolved fluorescence (TRF) reduces background by using a lanthanide fluorophore, such as europium or terbium, that emits long-lived fluorescence. This long-lived fluorescence lasts for milliseconds, so excitation of the fluorophore by a pulsed light source (e.g., a flash lamp), followed by a delay and then signal measurement (‘counting window’), allows short-lived fluorescence (lasting only for nanoseconds) to subside before a measurement is made. Assays using time-resolved fluorescence offer dramatically reduced signal-to-noise ratios. The most frequently used lanthanides are europium, terbium and samarium. These are commonly used as chelate or cryptate complexes that enable good signal intensity and stability.

 

 

​​​​​​time-resolved-fluorescence

Time-Resolved Fluorescence Resonance Energy Transfer (TR-FRET)

 

htrf-camp​​​​​

no FRET

Donor and acceptor are distant

FRET

Donor and acceptor are inclose proximity

TR-FRET combines the time-resolved (TR) measurement of fluorescence with fluorescence resonance energy transfer (FRET) technology. In FRET assays, biomolecules (e.g., proteins) are labeled with donor and acceptor fluorophores. When the biomolecules interact, donor and acceptor fluorophores are brought close together. Now, when the donor is excited, it can transfer its emission energy to the acceptor, which in turn emits fluorescence at a specific wavelength. Acceptor and donor fluorescence emissions have different wavelengths that can be distinguished from each other by a microplate reader, enabling quantitation of the biomolecular interaction.

Using lanthanide fluorophores, which have long-lived fluorescence emission, as donors, TR-FRET assays take advantage of the time-resolved measurement of fluorescence to eliminate short-lived background fluorescence. In a TR-FRET assay, thanks to the donor fluorophore’s long-lived emission, excitation and emission of both donor and acceptor fluorophores can also be measured after short-lived background fluorescence has abated.

Homogeneous Time-Resolved Fluorescence (HTRF)

TR-FRET​​​​​

HTRF is a versatile TR-FRET technology developed by Cisbio for detecting biomolecular interactions. A typical HTRF assay uses a europium cryptate as the donor, and the organic fluorophore d2 as the acceptor. The donor and acceptor can be used to label a variety of biomolecules, for applications including epigenetics, biomarker quantification, GPCR signaling, and much more. HTRF assays require a microplate reader with TRF detection mode that is certified HTRF-compatible by Cisbio.

Customer Breakthroughs

iTeos uses our multi-mode microplate readers to identify therapeutics that target the immune tumor micro-environment

Learn more  
 
 

Advantages and Considerations

A key benefit of TRF and TR-FRET detection includes decreased background and increased signal-to-noise ratio compared to standard fluorescence, resulting in higher sensitivity. In addition, the assay has a robust mix-and-read format that does not require any washing. This, along with the assay’s stability, makes it easy to automate and miniaturize for screening applications.

 

Applications and Assays

TRF and TR-FRET (HTRF) assays enable the analysis of molecular interactions in biochemical processes and are widely used to study kinase assays, cellular signaling pathways, protein-protein interactions, DNA-protein interactions, cell cytotoxicity and receptor-ligand binding.

Example assays for TR-FRET are outlined in the table to the right, along with several time-resolved fluorescence resources below.
 

Assay Donor Acceptor Wavelengths
HTRF-Eu/red* Europium cryptate XL665 or d2 Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665
HTRF-Tb/red* Terbium cryptate XL665 or d2 Ex340 Em1 620/Em2 665
HTRF-Tb/green* Terbium cryptate fluorescein or GFP Ex340 Em1 620/Em2 520
Lanthascreen Tb** Terbium chelate fluorescein Ex340 Em1 490/Em2 520
Lanthascreen EU** Europium chelate Alexa Fluor 647 Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665
LANCE (original)*** Europium chelate Surelight® APC Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665
LANCE Ultra*** Europium chelate ULight Ex320 Em1 620/Em2 665

​​​​​​

  • HTRF assay

    HTRF assay

    HTRF assays from Cisbio have evolved to encompass the areas of G protein-coupled receptors, kinases and cell signaling, epigenetics, and biomarkers. A wide variety of toolbox reagents and kits are available to address protein-protein interactions, nuclear receptor assays, receptor dimerization, ligand binding, receptor internalization, enzyme assays, and many more.

    HTRF involves the use of two fluorophores, a donor and an acceptor, to label proteins or other biomolecules of interest. When the biomolecules interact, their proximity enables fluorescence resonance energy transfer (FRET) to occur from the donor to the acceptor fluorophore. Using long-lifetime fluorescent lanthanide cryptates as donors allows time-resolved detection of HTRF assays, minimizing short-lived background fluorescence from compounds and other materials. The detection of time-resolved FRET (TR-FRET) with a microplate reader provides a readout of biomolecular binding.

    HTRF-compatible microplate readers

    HTRF-compatible microplate readers

    Getting the best HTRF results requires a microplate reader that has been validated to meet the HTRF performance specifications set by Cisbio. A reader’s optics, energy source, and detectors, as well as the settings used to detect HTRF, all impact performance. Our readers use optimized components for HTRF detection, including an HTRF detection cartridge for the SpectraMax i3x and Paradigm Multi-Mode Microplate Readers, and an enhanced TRF module plus validated filters for the SpectraMax iD5 reader.

    Cisbio’s HTRF certification program guarantees that readers bearing the “HTRF compatible” logo meet the specifications required for optimal HTRF performance. This technical note presents the optimized settings validated by Cisbio for Molecular Devices HTRF-compatible microplate readers.

  • HTRF Human TNFα Assay

    HTRF Human TNFα Assay

    The Human TNFα assay kit enables direct quantitative determination of TNFα. It uses a sandwich immunoassay involving two specific antibodies, one anti-TNFα labeled with Eu-Cryptate and the second anti-TNFα labeled with XL665 or d2. In the presence of TNFα, both antibodies bind TNFα, bringing both labels into close proximity so that TRFRET occurs (Figure 1). Signal is proportional to the concentration of antigen in the sample.

    In this application note we show how the SpectraMax® Paradigm® Multi-Mode Microplate Reader is used to perform robust, no-wash cytokine assays with excellent Z’ factors.

    Read application note  

    Normalize HTRF cytokine assays to cell viability

    Normalize HTRF cytokine assays to cell viability

    Pro- and anti-inflammatory cytokines play a central role in autoimmunity and inflammatory and infectious diseases. They are also key players in metabolic disorders and oncology, particularly the anti-tumor immune response. Homogeneous Time Resolved Fluorescence (HTRF) from Cisbio Bioassays provides a versatile platform for the quantitation of various cytokines and chemokines.

    This application note demonstrates how to perform a relevant analysis of cytokine secretion along with cell viability, using the SpectraMax i3x® Multi-Mode Microplate Reader with SpectraMax® Minimax® 300 Imaging Cytometer.

    Read application note  

  • Measure oxidative metabolism and glycolytic activity

    Measure oxidative metabolism and glycolytic activity

    To survive, cells require fuel in the form of ATP to carry out most essential bioprocesses. This fuel is generated through glycolysis and mitochondrial respiration. While both produce ATP, glycolysis can function in the absence of oxygen, whereas mitochondria require oxygen for the final step in oxidative phosphorylation (OXPHOS).

    Benefits of the application note:

    • Real-time measurement of extracellular oxygen depletion and acidification in cultured cells and microorganisms
    • Sensitive TRF detection of two simple, mix-and-measure assay workflows
    • Faster data acquisition and analysis with preconfigured SoftMax Pro protocols

    Read application note  

    HTRF cAMP dynamic 2 and IP-One assays

    HTRF cAMP dynamic 2 and IP-One assays

    HTRF assay performance on the SpectraMax M5e reader is demonstrated here with two dierent HTRF assay kits, cAMP dynamic 2 and IP-One. G-protein coupled receptors signal through two major pathways, regulation of cAMP and increase in intracellular calcium levels mediated by IP3. With the cAMP dynamic 2 kit, cAMP levels are detected using a Eu cryptate-labeled monoclonal anti-cAMP antibody and d2-labeled cAMP. The IP-One assay has a similar format and uses a monoclonal antibody specific to IP1, a more stable downstream metabolite of IP3 that accumulates in signaling cells in the presence of lithium chloride.

    This application note presents both cell-based assay data and standard curves generated with the cAMP dynamic 2 and IP-One kits. These HTRF data demonstrate the excellent dynamic range and Z’ factors2 obtainable with the SpectraMax M5e reader.

    Read application note  

  • HTRF cAMP HiRange Assay

    HTRF cAMP HiRange Assay

    Please click here to enlarge image.

    The HTRF cAMP HiRange kit enables quantitation of cyclic AMP (cAMP, cyclic adenosine 3’, 5’–monophosphate) in cellular samples. cAMP is a key second messenger in G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) signaling. Upon ligand binding to a GPCR, a conformational change occurs, activating the receptor and in turn activating a G protein.

    In this application note we show how the SpectraMax® Multi-Mode Microplate Readers are used to perform robust, high-throughput HTRF® assays with excellent Z’ factors and highly reproducible EC50 values.

    Read application note  

    Optimized settings for Transcreener TR-FRET assays

    Transcreener TR-FRET assays

    The Transcreener® TR-FRET Assays are single step, competitive immunoassays for direct detection of nucleotides with a far-red time resolved Förster resonance energy transfer (TR-FRET) readout. Learn how to optimize settings for Transcreener TR-FRET assays on the SpectraMax iD5 and i3x multi-mode microplate readers.

    Read application note  

  • Ruthenium-Based TRF Assay for High-Throughput cAMP Detection

    Ruthenium-Based TRF Assay

    Compared to traditional immunoassay methods which are typically time-consuming and laborious, the single-step, wash-free homogeneous immunoassays have been of high interest to researchers. In this study, we report a ruthenium-based time-resolved fluorescence method for the high-throughput detection of cAMP in research and drug discovery settings.

    Download Poster  

    Custom Ruthenium Nano-TRF Detection Platform

    Ruthenium Nano-TRFDetection Platform

    News: Molecular Devices Partners with Roche to Develop Custom Ruthenium Nano-TRF Detection Platform

    The custom technologies arm of Molecular Devices has partnered with the Discovery Technologies team, pRED at Roche to develop a high-throughput detection system for drug discovery screens employing Roche’s proprietary Ruthenium-based nanosecond time resolved fluorescence (Nano-TRF®) assays. The pRED screening teams are installing the custom-developed Nano-TRF® cartridge in their existing Molecular Devices SpectraMax® Paradigm® multimode microplate readers.

    Learn more  

Resources of Time-Resolved Fluorescence TRF / TR-FRET (HTRF)

Related Products & Services