UMGANG MIT COVID-19 – Wir setzen uns dafür ein, unsere wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft während dieser Pandemie zu unterstützen. Mehr erfahren 

Fluoreszenz- Polarisation (FP)

Fluoreszenz- Polarisation (FP)

 

Die Fluoreszenzpolarisation (FP) ist eine Technik, die weitverbreitet angewendet wird, um Bindungsereignisse in Lösungen zu überwachen. Sie kann angewendet werden, um biomolekulare Interaktionen, einschließlich der Protein-Antikörperbindung und der DNA-Hybridisierung, sowie die Enzymaktivität zu beurteilen, und sie wurde sowohl auf die Grundlagenforschung als auch auf das Hochdurchsatz-Screening angepasst.

Ein kleines, fluoreszenzmarkiertes Molekül (Tracer), das mit linear polarisiertem Licht angeregt wurde, emittiert hauptsächlich polarisiertes Licht, da der Tracer in der Zeit zwischen Anregung und Emission schnell rotiert. Wenn der Tracer jedoch ein wesentlich größeres Molekül bindet, rotiert er langsamer und das emittierte Licht bleibt zum größten Teil polarisiert.

 

 

Fluoreszenzpolarisation G-Faktor

 

Die Polarisation, ausgedrückt in Millipolarisationseinheiten, oder mP, wird aus den Messwerten der senkrechten (Iperp) und der parallelen (Ipara) Fluoreszenzintensität berechnet, die relativ zur Richtung des polarisierten Anregungslichtstrahls detektiert werden (siehe Formel unten). Der G-Faktor (G) wird zur Korrektur der durch optische Komponenten wie Filter, Polarisatoren und Monochromatoren ausgelösten Effekte eingesetzt, die sich auf die Polarisationswerte auswirken können.

 

Formel

Ungebundener Tracer

An ein größeres Molekül gebundener Tracer

Je größer das fluoreszenzmarkierte Molekül oder das Molekül, an das der Tracer gebunden ist, desto größer ist der mP-Wert.

Fluoreszenzpolarisation G-Faktor

Vorteil der FP gegenüber Bindungsassays

 

Die FP kann angewendet werden, um Rezeptor-Liganden-Interaktionen, Protein-DNA-Interaktionen, die Proteolyse, Membranfluidität, Enzym-Assays und mehr zu untersuchen. FP-Assays wurden erfolgreich angewendet, um eine große Vielfalt an Zielmolekülen zu erforschen, darunter Kinasen, Phosphatasen, Proteasen, G-Protein-gekoppelte Rezeptoren (GCPRs) und nukleäre Rezeptoren.

Durch die folgenden Vorteile sind FP-Assays besonders geeignet für High-Throughput-Screenings:

  • Homogen (keine Waschschritte erforderlich)
  • Nicht-radioaktiv
  • Ratiometrisch (einzelne Wellenlänge)
  • Miniaturisierbar

IMAP-Phosphodiesterase-Assays auf SpectraMax Multi-Mode Mikroplatten-Readern

 

Die IMAP® Technology von Molecular Devices ermöglicht schnelle, homogene und nicht-radioaktive Assays für Kinasen, Phosphatasen und Phosphodiesterasen und ist sowohl für die Assay-Entwicklung als auch das Hochdurchsatz-Screening geeignet. IMAP-Assays basieren auf der Bindung von Phosphat an immobilisierte Metall-Koordinationskomplexe auf Nanopartikeln. Wenn die IMAP-Bindungseinheit an ein phosphoryliertes Substrat bindet, verändert sich die molekulare Bewegung des Peptids und die Fluoreszenzpolarisation (FP) der an das Peptid gehefteten fluoreszierenden Markierung erhöht sich (Abbildung 1, links). In einer TR-FRET-Version des Assays ermöglicht die Einbindung eines Terbium (Tb)-Donors einen Fluoreszenzenergietransfer, der auftritt, wenn phosphoryliertes Substrat vorhanden ist (Abbildung 1, rechts). Die Detektion dieses Assays erfolgt im zeitaufgelösten Modus, der die Fluoreszenzinterferenz von Assaykomponenten oder Verbindungen in einem Screen virtuell beseitigt. Ein TR-FRET bietet auch Flexibilität hinsichtlich der Substratgröße und -konzentration.

Zyklische Nukleotid-Phosphodiesterasen (PDEs) sind eine Gruppe von Enzymen, die die Phosphodiesterbindungen von cAMP und cGMP abbauen, sekundären Botenstoffen, die an einer Vielfalt biologischer Prozesse beteiligt sind. Aufgrund ihrer Bedeutung für medizinische Bereiche, wie Herzerkrankungen, Demenz, Depression und weitere, haben sie sich zu einer wichtigen Klasse an Zielmolekülen entwickelt, gegen die Wirkstoffe gerichtet werden können. Hier demonstrieren wir, wie Verdünnungs- und Inhibitionskurven für das PDE-Enzym mit der IMAP-Technologie und den SpectraMax® Multi-Mode Mikroplatten-Readern und der SoftMax® Pro Software erstellt werden können.

 

Prinzip der IMAP-FP- und TR-FRET-Phosphodiesterase-Assays

 

Abbildung 1: Mithilfe eines fluoreszenzmarkierten Substrats wird eine Phosphodiesterase-Reaktion durchgeführt. Dann wird eine Bindungslösung hinzugegeben, die große, auf M(III) basierende Nanopartikel enthält. In der FP-Messung (links) bindet das kleine, phosphorylierte, fluoreszente Substrat an die großen Nanopartikel, wodurch die Rotationsgeschwindigkeit des Substrats reduziert und dessen Fluoreszenzpolarisation gesteigert wird. In der TR-FRET-Messung (rechts) binden sowohl das phosphorylierte Substrat als auch der Tb-Donor an die Nanopartikel und bringen den Tb-Donor nahe an den Fluorescein-Akzeptor auf dem Substrat heran, wodurch ein FRET ermöglicht wird.

Mehr erfahren

Arbeitsablauf zur Messung von IgG in der Zelllinien-Entwicklung optimieren

 

Die Messung der IgG-Produktion ist ein entscheidender Schritt in vielen Entwicklungs- und Produktionsphasen monoklonaler Antikörper. Häufig angewendete Methoden der IgG-Quantifizierung, wie die HPLC und Oberflächen-Interferometrie, erfordern entweder spezielle Instrumente und erfahrenes Personal oder zeitaufwendige Assays wie den ELISA (Enzyme-linked Immunosorbent Assay). Obwohl der ELISA eine gut etablierte Methode zur Protein-Quantifizierung ist, stellt er einen langwierigen Prozess aus vielen Schritten dar. Hier stellen wir die Anwendung des Valita®TITER-Assays von Valitacell zur Messung von IgG-Titern im Verlauf der Antikörperentwicklung und -herstellung vor.

Der ValitaTITER-Assay basiert auf der Detektion von IgG-Fc-Interaktionen mit Protein G mittels Fluoreszenzpolarisations-(FP-)Technologie. Jede Vertiefung einer 96-Well Mikrotiterplatte wird mit einem fluoreszenzmarkierten IgG-bindenden Peptid, dem Protein G, beschichtet. Werden Proben in die Vertiefungen gegeben, werden die Protein-G-Moleküle resuspendiert und Bindungsereignisse finden statt. Die Rate der Molekülbewegung der Protein-G-Moleküle verlangsamt sich, wenn diese Antikörper binden, was zu einem Anstieg der FP-Werte führt (Abbildung 2).

Mehr erfahren

Prinzip des ValitaTITER-Assays unter Anwendung der FP-Technologie

Abbildung 2: In der Pufferlösung sind ungebundene Protein-G-Moleküle kleiner und rotieren schneller. Als Folge daraus verliert das polarisierte Anregungslicht seine Polarisierung (oben). Wenn die Protein-G-Moleküle an die Antikörper in der Probe binden, verlangsamt sich die Rotation dieser größeren Komplexe und führt zu einer Erhöhung der FP-Werte (unten).

  • Etablierung und Optimierung eines Fluoreszenzpolarisationsassays

    Etablierung und Optimierung eines Fluoreszenzpolarisationsassays

    Dieser technische Hinweis wurde erstellt, um dem Benutzer Informationen bereitzustellen, die für die Definition der optimalen experimentellen Bedingungen hilfreich sind, wenn bestehende Assays in ein robustes Fluoreszenzpolarisationsformat umgewandelt werden sollen. Als Beispiel dient ein kompetitiver Bindungsassay der Art, die häufig zur Evaluierung der Rezeptor-Liganden-Bindung genutzt wird. Kenntnisse über die grundlegenden Prinzipien der Fluoreszenzpolarisation werden vorausgesetzt.

    Mehr erfahren  

    IMAP-FP-Kinase-Assays

    IMAP-FP-Kinase-Assays

    Proteinkinasen spielen in der Regulation vieler zellulärer Prozesse eine zentrale Rolle. In den letzten Jahren haben sie sich als eine der wichtigsten Klassen von Wirkstoff-Targets für Krebs und viele andere Erkrankungen hervorgetan. Die IMAP® Technology von Molecular Devices ermöglicht schnelle, nicht-radioaktive Assays für ein großes Spektrum an Kinasen und ist sowohl für die Assay-Entwicklung als auch das Hochdurchsatz-Screening geeignet.

  • IMAP-Phosphodiesterase-Assay

    IMAP-Phosphodiesterase-Assay

    Die IMAP® Technology bietet eine homogene, nicht auf Antikörpern basierende Plattform zum Screening von Kinasen, Phosphatasen und Phosphodiesterasen. Durch ihre Stabilität und Robustheit kann sie miniaturisiert werden und liefert qualitativ hochwertige Daten mit ausgezeichneten Z’-Faktor-Werten, wodurch sie für das Screening von Inhibitoren geeignet ist. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Methoden misst IMAP die direkte Bindung und erzeugt so relevantere Ergebnisse. IMAP-TR-FRET-Assays ermöglichen zudem eine direkte Bestimmung der Km.

    IMAP-Technologie

    IMAP-Technologie

    Bis zum heutigen Zeitpunkt wurden Kinaseaktivitäts-Assays mit radioaktiven Isotopen oder hochspezifischen Antikörpern durchgeführt. Um dieses Problem zu lösen, führte Molecular Devices seine firmeneigene IMAP® Technology ein und stellte einen nicht-radioaktiven, homogenen Assay zur Verfügung, der für ein großes Spektrum an Kinasen anwendbar ist, unabhängig von den Peptidsequenzen der Substrate. Der Assay stellt ein einfaches „Mix-and-Read“-Verfahren dar, das die genaue Bestimmung der Enzymaktivität ermöglicht.

  • Transcreener ADP2 Assays

    Transcreener ADP2 Assays

    Transcreener® ADP2 Assays sind homogene Fluoreszenzmessungs-Assays, die die Detektion und das Screening bereits existierender Wirkstoff-Targets, einschließlich Protein- und Lipidkinasen, sowie neu aufkommender Targets wie Kohlenhydratkinasen, Triphosphatasen, Hitzeschockproteine und andere ATPasen ermöglichen. Der Assay basiert auf der Immundetektion von ADP. Um den Bedarf und die Detektionspräferenzen der Benutzer zu erfüllen, stehen drei Detektionsmodi zur Verfügung: Fluoreszenzpolarisation (FP), zeitaufgelöster Förster-Resonanzenergietransfer (TR-FRET) und Fluoreszenzintensität (FI).

    ValitaTITER-Assay

    ValitaTITER-Assay

    Der ValitaTITER Assay ist eine homogene, Hochdurchsatz-Methode zur schnellen und präzisen Quantifizierung von IgG im Verlauf des Entwicklungsprozesses von Zelllinien. Dieser 96-Well-Assay wurde auf dem SpectraMax iD5 Reader und anderen Mikroplatten-Readern von Molecular Devices mittels FP-Detektion vollständig validiert, um zuverlässige Ergebnisse sicherzustellen. Die SoftMax Pro Software minimiert die Konfigurationszeit für die Detektionseinstellungen und automatisiert die Standardkurvenanpassung und die Probenquantifizierung.

Ressourcen für die Fluoreszenzpolarisation (FP)

Videos und Webinare

Mikroplatten-Reader von ELISA bis AlphaScreen

Assay-Anwendungen ausbauen – mit Multi-Mode-Readern von ELISA bis AlphaScreen

Zugehörige Produkte für die Fluoreszenzpolarisation (FP)

COVID-19 RESPONSE - We are committed to supporting our scientific community during this pandemic. Learn more 

Fluorescence Polarization (FP)

Fluorescence Polarization (FP)

 

Fluorescence polarization (FP) is a technique that is widely used to monitor binding events in solution. It can be used to assess biomolecular interactions, including protein-antibody binding and DNA hybridization, as well as enzyme activity, and it has been adapted to basic research as well as high-throughput screening.

A small, fluorescently labeled molecule (tracer) that is excited with plane-polarized light emits mostly depolarized light because the tracer tumbles rapidly during the time between excitation and emission. However, when the tracer binds a much larger molecule, it rotates more slowly, and the emitted light remains largely polarized.

 

 

Fluorescence polarization G factor

 

Polarization, expressed in units of milli P, or mP, is calculated from the measurements of perpendicular (Iperp) and parallel (Ipara) fluorescence intensity values detected relative to the direction of the polarized excitation light (see the formula below). The G factor (G) is used to correct for the effects of optical components like filters, polarizers, and monochromators, which can affect polarization values.

 

formula

Unbound tracer

Tracer bound to a larger molecule

The larger the fluorescently labeled molecule, or the molecule to which tracer is bound, the larger the mP value.

Fluorescence polarization G factor

FP advantages over other binding assays

 

FP can be employed to study receptor-ligand interactions, protein-DNA interactions, proteolysis, membrane fluidity, enzyme assays, and more. FP assays have been used successfully to investigate a wide variety of targets including kinases, phosphatases, proteases, G protein–coupled receptors (GPCRs), and nuclear receptors.

The following benefits make FP assays especially amenable to high-throughput screening:

  • Homogeneous (no wash steps required)
  • Non-radioactive
  • Ratiometric (single wavelength)
  • Miniaturizable

IMAP phosphodiesterase assays on SpectraMax Multi-Mode Microplate Readers

 

IMAP® Technology from Molecular Devices enables rapid, homogeneous, and non-radioactive assay of kinases, phosphatases, and phosphodiesterases and is suited for both assay development and high-throughput screening. IMAP assays are based on binding of phosphate to immobilized metal coordination complexes on nanoparticles. When IMAP binding entities bind to phosphorylated substrate, molecular motion of the peptide is altered, and fluorescence polarization (FP) for the fluorescent label attached to the peptide increases (Figure 1, left). In a TR-FRET version of the assay, the inclusion of a Terbium (Tb) donor enables a fluorescent energy transfer to occur when phosphorylated substrate is present (Figure 1, right). This assay is detected in a time-resolved mode, which virtually eliminates fluorescence interference from assay components or compounds in a screen. TR-FRET also offers flexibility in substrate size and concentration.

Cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases (PDEs) are a group of enzymes that degrade the phosphodiester bond of cAMP and cGMP, second messengers that are involved in a variety of biological processes. They have emerged as a key class of druggable targets due to their clinical significance in areas including heart disease, dementia, depression, and others. Here, we demonstrate how PDE enzyme dilution and inhibition curves are performed with IMAP Technology using the SpectraMax® Multi-Mode Microplate Readers with SoftMax® Pro Software.

 

IMAP FP and TR-FRET phosphodiesterase assay principle

 

Figure 1: A phosphodiesterase reaction is performed using a fluorescent-labeled substrate. Binding Solution containing large M(III)-based nanoparticles is then added. In the FP readout (left), the small phosphorylated fluorescent substrate binds to the large nanoparticles, which reduces the rotational speed of the substrate and thus increases its fluorescence polarization. In the TR-FRET readout (right), phosphorylated substrate and Tb donor both bind to the nanoparticle, bringing the Tb donor in close proximity to the fluorescein acceptor on the substrate and enabling FRET.

Learn more

Streamline the workflow for measuring IgG in cell line development

 

The measurement of IgG production is a crucial step at many stages in the development and manufacturing of monoclonal antibodies. Commonly used methods for IgG quantitation require either special instrumentation and skilled personnel, such as HPLC and surface interferometry, or time-consuming assays like ELISA (enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay). Although the ELISA is a well-established method for protein quantitation, it is a lengthy, multi-step process. Here, we introduce the use of the Valita®TITER assay from Valitacell for measuring IgG titers during the antibody development and manufacturing process.

The ValitaTITER assay is based on detection of IgG Fc interactions with Protein G using fluorescence polarization (FP) technology. Each well of a 96- well microtiter plate is coated with a fluorescently labeled IgG-binding peptide, Protein G. When samples are added to the wells, the Protein G molecules are resuspended and binding occurs. The rate of molecular motion of Protein G slows down when it is bound to antibodies, resulting in an increase of the FP value (Figure 2).

Learn more

ValitaTITER assay principle using the FP technology

Figure 2: Free Protein G molecules are smaller and rotate faster in the buffer solution. As a result, the polarized excitation light loses polarization (top). When Protein G molecules bind to the antibodies in the samples, the rotation of the larger complex slows down resulting in increase of the FP values (bottom).

  • Establishing and optimizing a fluorescence polarization assay

    Establishing and optimizing a fluorescence polarization assay

    This technical note is designed to provide information to help the user define the optimal experimental conditions for converting existing assays to a robust fluorescence polarization format. The example is a competitive binding assay of the type often used to evaluate receptor-ligand binding. Familiarity with the basic principles of fluorescence polarization is assumed.

    Learn more  

    IMAP FP kinase assays

    IMAP FP kinase assays

    Protein kinases are central to the regulation of many cellular processes. In recent years they have emerged as one of the most important classes of drug targets for cancer and many other diseases. IMAP® Technology from Molecular Devices enables rapid, non-radioactive assay of a wide array of kinases and is suited to both assay development and high-throughput screening.

  • IMAP phosphodiesterase assay

    IMAP phosphodiesterase assay

    IMAP Technology offers a homogeneous, non-antibody-based platform for screening kinases, phosphatases, and phosphodiesterases. Stable and robust, it is amenable to miniaturization and yields high-quality data with excellent Z’ factor values, making it suitable for inhibitor screening. Unlike some other methods, IMAP measures direct binding for more relevant results. IMAP TR-FRET assays also enable direct Km determination.

    IMAP technology

    IMAP technology

    Until now, assays of kinase activity have been performed using radioactive isotopes or highly specific antibodies. To address this, Molecular Devices introduced its proprietary IMAP® Technology, providing a non-radioactive, homogeneous assay applicable to a wide variety of kinases without regard for the substrate peptide sequences. The assay is a simple “mix-and-read” procedure that allows accurate determination of enzyme activity

  • Transcreener ADP2 assays

    Transcreener ADP2 assays

    Transcreener® ADP2 Assays are homogenous assays with fluorescent readouts that enable the detection and screening of established drug targets including protein and lipid kinases, as well as emerging targets such as carbohydrate kinases, triphosphatases, heat shock proteins and other ATPases. The assay is based on the immunodetection of ADP. Three detection modes are oered to accommodate users’ needs and detection format preferences: fluorescence polarization (FP), time-resolved Forster-resonance energy transfer (TR-FRET), and fluorescence intensity (FI).

    ValitaTITER assay

    ValitaTITER assay

    The ValitaTITER assay is a homogeneous, high-throughput method for precise and rapid quantitation of IgG in the cell line development workflow. This 96-well assay has been fully validated on the SpectraMax iD5 reader and other Molecular Devices plate readers with FP detection to ensure reliable results. SoftMax Pro Software minimizes setup time for detection and automates standard curve fitting and sample quantitation

Resources of Fluorescence Polarization (FP)

Videos & Webinars

Microplate Readers from ELISA to AlphaScreen

Expanding Assay Applications with Multi-Mode Readers from ELISA to AlphaScreen

Related Products of Fluorescence Polarization (FP)