Event Details

May 6, 2014

Using the Axoclamp 900A for Two-Electrode Voltage Clamp of Xenopus Oocytes Expressing Ion Channels to Characterize Conus snail Venom Actions

  • Conference
  • Africa Asia Pacific Central & South America Europe Middle East North America

Time: 8:00 AM PDT | 11:00 AM EDT | 16:00 BST

Speaker
Dr. Lauren B. French, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology and Neuroscience
Chair of Biology
Allegheny College
520 N. Main St.
Meadville, PA 16335
 
Webinar Details:
As a professor at a small liberal arts college, I use Molecular Devices equipment such as the Axoclamp 900A and Digidata 1440 to look for Conus snail venom components that specifically target ion channels. The techniques involved, from in vitro transcription of cRNA encoding ion channels of interest to two-electrode voltage clamp analysis of the channel-expressing oocytes are incorporated into my classes as well as my research all involving undergraduate students. I will discuss the challenges and rewards of teaching undergraduates to do this work.