Event Details

May 3, 2017

Tunable optogenetic system elucidates the role of beta-catenin signaling dynamics on neural stem cell differentiation

  • Webinars
  • Europe North America

Optogenetically-induced neurogenesis in a Greiner black-walled 96-well plate, 488 nm channel taken at 10X objective on the ImageXpress Micro System, courtesy of Alyssa Rosenbloom, UC Berkeley

8 AM PST | 11 AM EST | 4 PM GMT 

Presenter
Alyssa Rosenbloom, Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Learning Objectives
- How can high-content imaging further insights into the biology of adult neurogenesis?
- Do NSCs differentiate when the integral of signaling during a temporal window exceeds a key threshold, or do dynamics in signal presentation matter? 
- What are the effects of continuous vs. high frequency signaling on neuronal differentiation?
- Why does the overexpression or CRISPR/Cas9 mediated knockdown of one cell cycle regulatory factor alter cell differentiation and survival?