Event Details

Apr 6, 2017

Colony picking in a fully automated DNA assembly workflow

  • Webinars
  • Africa Asia Pacific Central & South America Europe Middle East North America

DATE:  April 6, 2017
TIME:  3:00PM GMT, 7:00AM PT, 10:00AM ET

The Edinburgh Genome Foundry (EGF) is a newly established facility of the University of Edinburgh and assembles built-to-order DNA constructs using a fully integrated robotic platform. The assembly of synthetic DNA has become a standard process in many scientific laboratories. The assembly protocols involve many repetitive steps and often scientists require many different versions of DNA. Therefore, this process is well suited for automation, which enables the high-throughput needed and also resulting in a lower error rate and cost saving for reagents and consumables.

Colony Picking is a key part of the synthetic biology workflow, where bacteria are used to propagate cloned DNA, or to screen DNA constructs against selective conditions. Yet, at high throughput (typically thousands of colonies per day) the task becomes too labor-intensive and error-prone to be performed by hand.

In this webinar, speakers from EGF will describe their robotic platform and how it performs automated DNA assembly using the Golden Gate DNA assembly method. Furthermore, they will present how the Molecular Devices QPix 420 integrates into the automated production line and is used for routine high-throughput colony picking/plating. They will describe the customization of the instrument itself, as well as their collaborative efforts with Molecular Devices and their systems integrator to integrate the QPix 420 into our extensive lab automation setup.

Learning Objectives:

  • Learn about the automation of DNA assembly, as exemplified using the Golden Gate assembly method

  • Learn about the customization and integration of high-throughput colony picking/plating