UMGANG MIT COVID-19 – Wir setzen uns dafür ein, unsere wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft während dieser Pandemie zu unterstützen. Mehr erfahren 

Zelluläre Signalgebung

Messen Sie zelluläre Antworten, die durch eine große Vielfalt an Signalwegen vermittelt werden

Zelluläre Signalgebung und zelluläre Antworten

Die zelluläre Signalgebung ermöglicht es Zellen, auf ihre Umgebung zu reagieren sowie mit anderen Zellen zu kommunizieren. Proteine, die auf der Zelloberfläche lokalisiert sind, können Signale aus der Umgebung empfangen und die Information über eine Reihe von Proteininteraktionen und biochemischen Reaktionen, die einen Signalweg bilden, in die Zelle übermitteln. Mehrzellige Organismen greifen auf eine Vielzahl an Signalwegen zu, um ein angemessenes Wachstum und eine angemessene Regulation und Funktion von Zellen und Geweben zu koordinieren. Wenn die Signalgebung zwischen oder innerhalb von Zellen fehlreguliert ist, führen unangemessene zelluläre Antworten möglicherweise zu Krebs oder anderen Erkrankungen.

Es wurden viele Werkzeuge entwickelt, um zelluläre Antworten, die durch eine große Vielfalt an Signalwegen vermittelt werden, zu messen. Die Signaltransduktion durch G-Protein-gekoppelte Rezeptoren (GCPR) kann mit Assays untersucht werden, die von der Beobachtung des Calcium-Flux mittels Fluoreszenzfarbstoffen bis hin zur Beurteilung von Veränderungen bei downstream gelegenen Effektormolekülen mittels TR-FRET reichen. Fluoreszenzmoleküle wurden dazu genutzt, Veränderungen in der Aktivität von Kinasen aufzudecken, die in Signalwegen wichtige Rollen übernehmen. Luciferase-Reportergen-Assays, die auf Lumineszenzreaktionen basieren, sind zu einem vielseitigen Werkzeug geworden, das zur Erforschung der Genregulation sowie Zellsignalen sowohl in der Grundlagenforschung als auch in der Wirkstoffforschung eingesetzt wird.

Relevante Anwendungen und Assays

Hier präsentieren wir eine Auswahl an Anwendungen für die zelluläre Signalgebung, die mithilfe von Mikroplatten-Readern mit Detektionsmodi für Fluoreszenz, TR-FRET, Fluoreszenzpolarisation und Lumineszenz ausgestattet sind.

Ressourcen für die zelluläre Signalgebung

COVID-19 RESPONSE - We are committed to supporting our scientific community during this pandemic. Learn more 

Cellular Signaling

Measure cellular responses occurring through a wide range of signaling pathways

Cell signaling

Cellular signaling allows cells to respond to their environment and communicate with other cells. Proteins located on the cell surface can receive signals from the surroundings and transmit information into the cell via a series of protein interactions and biochemical reactions that comprise a signaling pathway. Multicellular organisms rely upon an extensive array of signaling pathways to coordinate the proper growth, regulation, and functioning of cells and tissues. If signaling between or within cells is dysregulated, inappropriate cellular responses may lead to cancer and other diseases.

Cell signaling is the collective name for processes, which cells receive signals, interpret, and respond accordingly. These signals range from physical cues, such as temperature, light, or electricity, to chemical signals, such as small molecules binding to the cell surface. With the ability to process these signals, cells can interact with each other and the environment. In addition, cell signaling constitutes the foundation of development, immune response, and homeostasis in all organisms. This is how our nerve cells communicate with our muscles to facilitate movement or how our body initiates an immune response upon recognizing pathogens.

Cellular responses

Many tools have been developed to measure cellular responses occurring through a wide range of signaling pathways. G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) signaling can be studied using assays ranging from calcium flux, which can be monitored using fluorescence dyes, to changes in downstream effector molecules assessed by TR-FRET. Fluorescent molecules have been harnessed to reveal changes in the activity of kinases that play key roles in signaling pathways. Luciferase reporter gene assays utilizing luminescent reactions have become a versatile tool for studying gene regulation and cell signaling in both basic research and drug discovery.

The detection of cellular signals and responses can help us elucidate the role of cell-to-cell interactions in diseases. Drug discovery can also greatly benefit from cell signaling assays since many drugs inhibit aberrant ligand-protein interactions during signal transduction.

 

Cellular signaling applications and assays

Below, we present a variety of cell signaling applications that can be run using microplate readers with fluorescence, TR-FRET, fluorescence polarization, and luminescence detection modes.

Latest Resources

Resources of Cellular Signaling